1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is still pending approval by Apple. If you haven't yet, try using your mobile browser - TalkBass is responsive to any screen size.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Teaching myself to read music...slow process!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by sbpark, Feb 24, 2013.

1. sbpark

sbpark

I've been playing guitar for over 20 years, self-taught and recently picked up bass. I also play 5-string banjo and ukulele, and play everything by tab or by ear. I figured learning to read music would be a great way to tech myself to read music and give me a good foundation for learning to read music for other instruments.

I'm using the Hal Leonard Bass Method by Ed Frienland. Love the book, but it's slow going and VERY humbling, especially when I could play most of this stuff very easily by ear or by using tab. But from this point on I am refusing to use tab and will be forcing myself to read from standard notation for everything!

Anyone else in the same boat who has been playing for some time but never learned to read music until recently? If so, how has your progress been?
  2. halfjackson

halfjackson Supporting Member