Tech 21 VT Bass + Other Pedals

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Champion, Dec 28, 2012.

1. Champion

Champion

First of all, I am a newbie and have never used any effect pedal. I have been considering the tech 21 VT bass just to have a bit of fun and get some variation on tones. However, I see people use the VT bass with other pedals (such as overdrive etc). My question is - why do you need to use an overdrive with the VT Bass? Does the VT bass give you the overdrive effect already?

Thanks.

2. ShowKing

ShowKing

VT bass is capable of its own overdrive, but I think most people including myself use it as a clean or slightly dirty tone shaping tool.

I use an overdrive with it because it makes any overdrive/distortion pedals sound way better than on its own.

I'm not a huge fan of the VT's distortion but it sounds great clean and makes other distortion pedals sound fantastic.

IME

3. P-oddz

P-oddz Supporting Member

Depends on how you plan on using it.
    If you are not playing Ampeg gear - The VT's sole function is to mimic Ampeg tones. So as for general use, most find that the VT Bass is not a "stomp box" overdrive "effect" because it can alter your normal tone too much. Most find (including myself) that its tone as an "always on" is much more preferable. In these cases, you are essentially using the box as your straight tone (think of it acting as your amp's tone), and additional overdrive or distortion gain stages are necessary for the amount of dirt you want to dial in.

Not to say that there is not exceptions that might work personally better for your situation, but this might address your question about using the VT as a gain stage as opposed to a tone shaper.

4. dalahorse

dalahorse