Technique dilemma......

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Liv3rman, Jan 22, 2013.

1. Liv3rman

Liv3rman

I have been playing bass for about 8 months after switching from guitar to fill a vacancy in my friends covers band. I am very competent with a pick (15 years of guitar) but decided to learn to play finger style a few months ago.

I use the 'moveable anchor' ie. thumb on pickup when playing 'E', thumb on 'E' when playing 'A', etc so my thumb is always on the string above the one I am playing. I have found this style great for muting purposes and adequate for the type of music we play (rock/metal covers).

Now my problem is that I run into speed problems with fast runs across multiple strings using my moveable anchor, so I am looking into learning 'the floating thumb' technique.

We (as a band) gig most weeks, so if I haven't nailed the floating thumb in a week, I will play the gig using my original technique, hence undoing the work I've done learning the new method.

Should I just stick to my current technique, or learn the floating thumb, and risk a few cock ups in gigs along the way?

Thanks for reading, any advice would be great!
  2. Tupac

Tupac

Keep at it. If you're a "chopsy" player who digs in, moveable anchor probably isn't for you.

Dave Larue has no problems. Neither does John Myung.
  3. Liv3rman

Liv3rman

The John Myung vid is how I play, and yes he can play quick like that!
    Think I'll stick with that for the time being. Thanks for posting those. :)
  4. Nashrakh

Nashrakh

I wouldn't actually consider playing your gigs with moveable anchor to be undoing your progress. Muting techniques can vary according to context, so no harm in doing both.

I'm currently learning floating thumb proper too and it feels kind of weird at first but it grows and me as comfortable. Have to consciously force myself to using it though as I'd naturally revert to anchoring.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Liv3rman

Liv3rman