Techniques for learning long, complex bass lines

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by socialleper, Feb 13, 2013.

1. socialleper

socialleper

I've been playing bass for more than 20 years and have been really, actively 'listening' to music (as opposed to just passively hearing music) since I was pretty young. If there is one thing I've never been able to wrap my head around is how musicians remember very complex, very long streams of music. Classical, jazz, progressive and technical death metal are full of examples of well executed runs of notes that don't seem to have a "riff" to them, that go on for minutes. I get that the physical ability to play difficult pieces comes with practice, but I can't figure out how you can even remember that many notes that happen in such a short space of time, without much in the way of catchy, memorable, riff-iness.

Since it is done a lot, there must be something to it I don't understand. What is the methodology or process behind learning long, complex pieces that have little or no repeating patterns, or who's patterns are minutes apart?

2. Awesome Sauce

Awesome Sauce Ub3r-L337 3p1C-PWNz3R N00B-K1LL3r. W00t! W00t! Supporting Member

3. nickrs540

nickrs540

For me it's all Muscle Memory. I learn alot of things in strings, not just individual notes. If I try to play one of my more difficult/technical songs I have to start at the begining and let my hands just take over. I don't think much about it. If I tried to start in the middle of a phrase or something like that I'd be lost.

4. Piggy8692

Piggy8692

I think that it has a lot to do with mental capacity. If a player only learned riffs that repeated every 4th beat. for years and years that's what they would be accustomed to. Have someone throw in a pattern that only repeats after 16 beats and that might be confusing.