terrible hand cramps, please help ty

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Das reich88, Oct 24, 2011.

1. Das reich88

Das reich88

hi, i am very new to talkbass.com, and i do love playing bass and guitar. however i have a terrible problem, i get very intense handcramps in the spacing between my thumb in my left hand "fretting hand", this causes my hand to lock up and become much slower and of corse very painful, i play music like iron maiden, which has songs like phantom of the opera which go on for 7 minutes of non stop 3 finger galloping at 190bpm. if anyone knows if their is a medical solution to this musicans cramp please let me know, thank you all very much, james.

2. bThumper38

bThumper38 brian ebert Gold Supporting Member

Could be a number of things, like is your wrist bent when you are playing. That can cause cramps. How low do you where your bass?

3. tangentmusic

tangentmusic A figment of our exaggeration

Maybe a nice warm soak and a massage in the effected area before playing may help.
    If you are new to bass (you dont say), it may just be a matter of building up strength in your fretting hand. Continued practice will help. Stop playing when it gets painful - dont push it.
    If you have been playing many years and are just now starting to have pain, you may need to re-evaluate your fretting hand technique. Possibly you have strained it with the way you hold the neck. If the pain doesnt get better, seek medical attention.

4. tk4207

tk4207