The Ampeg SVT power amp tube blues

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Pills Are Yummy, Jan 13, 2013.

1. Pills Are Yummy

Pills Are Yummy

So I was putting some 70s USA Sylvanias in my SVT, and I thought, "what the hell, I've always wanted so see the rest of this thing from the inside." So I opened the back plate, pulled out the stock SOVTEK 6550's in there, and then it hits me: I've been gigging this thing for 6 months with 2 broken 6550's; one is cracked, with the grey stuff (zinc oxide?) all over it, and the other is just plain shattered. So what's the next step? Should I simply replace the 2 broken SOVTEK's or get a new set of end-all tubes? I really don't feel like shelling out the $350 it costs to retube, but I will if necessary (goodbye, Spector):bawl:

Thank you in advance,

AC

2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    I'd replace the two broken Sovteks with new Sovteks. It's not the end of the world if the tubes don't match, and I think the Sovteks are a very underrated and good tube for new production.

3. T-Bird

T-Bird

Hi.

Well, if You were happy with the amp limping along with 4 tubes, just replacing the two won't hurt any, that's for sure.
    Won't probably help any either without digging a bit deeper.

I wouldn't be too surprised if the resistors that are supposed to protect the rest of the circuit have blown, just like they're supposed to.

Tech time gets my vote.

BTW, I hope that the $350 retune is just a typo. If it's not, do find another tech ;).

Regards
    Sam

4. Pills Are Yummy

Pills Are Yummy

Lol, definitely a typo. How can I tell if the transistors are blown? I thought it was the job of the fuse and the transformer to protect the rest of the circuit (excuse my noobiness)

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups