The art of setting up a Bass.... (Beginner here)

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Kuroth, Dec 13, 2012.

1. Kuroth

Kuroth

I call it art because form what all I have read so far it seems like it really is..

Well I am a TOTAL beginner.. Been searching and reading and I “think” I understand all the things that need to be checked for a setup..

My question is as a totally beginner should I try and do the setup myself or take it to a Pro for the first setup?

I have a Dean Edge 10 Active Pickup 4 string Bass that based on reviews, price, recommended for beginners etc etc I got as my first Bass..

I know how to Tune it.. It seems to hold its tune pretty well.. I put a tiny amount of Graphite on the nut as I read this is good to do to most nuts to help keep in Tune longer.. This is all I have done so far..

Now I sit down and do my lessons and I am wondering all the time.. Does it sound correct? Setup correct? Is there anything wrong? How can I tell since I never done this before????

It sounds odd sometimes.. I “Think” most of that now is just me and learning how to pluck and Fret the strings.... But I keep wondering because I don’t know..

Sorry.. I am rambling.. Questions:

1. I did check the intonation and I think it is slightly off. I have read how to adjust it and should I gave it a try on my own.. I assume you check and adjust if needed the intonation for each string?
    I did the playing of the E string open and then fretted on the 12th fret and the Arrow on my Auto tuner was just slightly to the left of the E4 center Mark.. Green and left red light come on..

2. Action.. I understand what it means but how do I check and know what to do if it needs adjusting?

3. pickup height.. How do I tell if too high or too low and how do I adjust.

4. neck adjustment.. How to know if ok and how to adjust if not ok