***The "ask the light-bulb question" thread***

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by bzytzo, Jan 22, 2013.

1. bzytzo

bzytzo

When I started studying music theory I'd be going well for a while before I read one sentence or saw something that threw me off and left me depressed and moping around dank cellars envying rats and spiders.

Perhaps everyone studying theory experiences this kind of thing, so I thought a thread specifically for clearing up these blips of confusion might be handy.

As an example, I used to get notation and go through it, writing the note name letters above the notes in pencil. If the notation was in A major, I'd be dismayed to see notes there which weren't in the key. Back then there was no internet and I had nobody I could ask to help me with my confusion. Buying books was of no use because I didn't know enough to be able to track down the right book. I therefore read everything in the local library - no joy. I now realize those books were pretty lame :).

So ask away and chip in if you can help out!

2. the_stone

the_stone

Isn't that the purpose of the entire General Instruction forum to begin with?

3. bzytzo

bzytzo

I was thinking of those little niggly things which don't quite add up, no matter how much thought is given to it. That one question on one little point, rather than a discussion of the whole subject.

It could also be a place to talk about one's own light-bulb moment/moments when something suddenly became astoundingly clear. Too late to change the thread title though.

One of my bulb moments was when I realized that chords were generally made up from the odd-numbered notes in a scale. A batch of such tales of revelation in one place might be helpful to some, I thought.

Regarding the example I gave of my own frustration in the past, I've never seen anything in a web music forum which directly asks: Why does a piece of music sometimes contain notes not in the key scale?