The beauty of fretless...I'm new to it.

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Sundogue, Jan 8, 2014.

1. Sundogue

Sundogue

Just recently pulled out the frets on my 5 string Yamaha (which has undergone many changes over the years) and I've been playing fretless going on almost two weeks now.

I've gotten to the point where I can play everything I did before on fretted without struggling finding notes, and also being able to cop the fretted sound so as not to limit myself to only that fretless sound. I can get the whole mwah thing easily and vibrato, slides and such. I've been working on scales and bouncing about between root notes and fifths and octaves with ease.

But, is there anything in particular that I can work on that is more specific to fretless and what one can do with it? I've been playing along to many fretless YouTube clips of fretless players, but if anyone has any techniques or specific things I can work on to maximize my practice time I would appreciate it.

This whole conversion over to fretless has been very enlightening and funner than hell. Inspiring.
  2. nysbob

nysbob

If you're progressing that quickly, work on double stops - major and minor 3rds & 10ths, perfect 4ths & 5ths.
  3. bkbirge

bkbirge Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Steak n Shake
    Work on mastering vibrato control, from none to minimal to extreme, all at *different* tempos. Especially on lyrical songs putting in a really slow vibrato can be magic but can also be very difficult if all you do is one speed vibrato.
  4. Sundogue

Sundogue

Well, I've been playing fretted bass for over 35 years and I have dabbled on double bass and fretless in the distant past...so it's not entirely foreign to me. Going full into fretless actually has come pretty quickly to me.