The best bass chorus for fretless

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by anton72, Feb 27, 2014.

1. anton72

anton72 Supporting Member

Guys, please advise bass chorus to enhance that fretless muah. I play Spector bass, active fretless. The only one I've tried before was EBS but did not like it.
    Thanks!
  2. Doctor_Clock

Doctor_Clock The Moon Machine Gold Supporting Member

I use the MXR Bass Chorus deluxe, I really like it on my fretless basses, I like to have a "Sting-like Policey sound" sometimes, and it does the trick nicely. I have never used any other chorus on fretless before this one so I really have nothing to compare it to.
  3. cv115505

cv115505 Supporting Member

I second the MXR...Also look into the Carl Martin... very pricey, but I've tried them and I really liked it
  4. Marial

Marial Proud Papa Supporting Member

Are there any fretless players whose chorus sound you particularly like?
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. anton72

Probably Mik Karn. Although I'm not sure which pedals are used more commonly with fretless. I'm looking for something let's say airy or atmospheric?
  7. sowilson

sowilson

Ensoniq DP4 utilizing two chorus's set slightly different from each other and then mixed (you end up using all 4 engines this way).

TC Electronics SCF Chorus Pedal
    TC Electronics Corona Chorus Pedal
  8. TorontoAlex

TorontoAlex

Just asking, because I don't know, and not trying to be a smart-ass, but what would make a chorus pedal better for fretless vs. fretted? Like if a pedal was good with a fretted bass, wouldn't it be good for fretless as well and vise-versa?

Anyways, I also own a MXR Bass Chorus Deluxe, that works great with both my fretted and fretless basses. I also like the some of the chorus on my B3, but the low-cut feature is something that really works for me, that I haven't been able to replicate (yet) with the B3.
  9. TorontoAlex

TorontoAlex