The Chapman Stick in the bass role

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by meshica7, Nov 9, 2012.

1. meshica7

meshica7

Hello folks!
    Just wanted to pick some brains here. I am a bassist of over 30 years now and in the last 6 years I have also been playing the Chapman Stick. The model I own is the 10 string version with the "classic" Stick tuning of inverted 5ths and straight 4ths:

Melody 4ths: 1-high D, 2-A, 3-E, 4-B and 5-F#.
    Bass 5ths: 6-low C, 7-G, 8-D, 9-A and 10-E.

For more on Stick tuning and all the variants go to Stick Tunings

Anyway,how many bassists here have had experience playing with the Stick in primarily a bassist role? What are your feelings on the Stick's ability to fill the higher registers while still maintaining a solid low end groove?
    OK..let the flood gates open....
  2. Roy Vogt

Roy Vogt Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Accuracy, Carvin, Hotwire, Conklin Basses, DNA, Eden
    At one point I was playing my Stick (#462 once owned by Dee Murray) in a band after the guitarist left. Our instrumentation was voice/violin, Stick and drum kit. I haven't done that in a while, but the key was two amps and effects on the top end.
    I use a different tuning that is 5 string bass in 4ths and 5 string piccolo E-C. The disadvantage is not being able to play the bass chords you can on inverted 5ths. The advantage is all my bass patterns translate.
    Besides Tony Levin my inspiration on Stick is Fergus Jameson Marsh with Bruce Cockburn in the late 80s and early 90s.
  3. meshica7

meshica7

Fergus is amazing! I had the honor of interviewing him for a website I ran a few years ago. He,Trey Gunn,and Tony Levin are my biggest inspirations. I suppose it's their rhythmic,bass driven lines that speak to me.