1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

The Decline in Gigging Opportunities....

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by KJung, Sep 27, 2006.

1. KJung

KJung Supporting Member

Just thought I'd post this in a thread in case anyone is interested in discussing.

I've been gigging for about 30 years now.. about half the time as a full time player. I freelance, and now mostly do the high end corporate/wedding/private deal, and I slum a little bit in the clubs playing small group 'jazz/funk type' gigs for fun as many of us do.

I started out playing professionally right at the final end of the big band era in the freelance/society circuit. Even in the late 70's, the very high paying society type gigs and corporate gigs were still filled by big bands (i.e., 18-21 piece bands with full horn sections, etc.). I had the pleasure of playing many of these gigs with the 'old timers' at the end of their careers.

Around that time, the generations shifted, and the 5-8 piece 'pop' group took over most of these gigs (there was a very uncomfortable time that maybe some of you older players remember, when the big band leaders would hire 'small pop/rock break bands' to play 'contemporary music' during the breaks at these types of gigs).