1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

The Great Purge begins ... listed all of my basses on Craigslist last night

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by thehamsterman, Dec 2, 2012.

1. thehamsterman

thehamsterman

I've been playing bass for about 15 years now. I was studying bass performance in school, but

Now, with 6 bass guitars and no time to play any of them, I realized others could be enjoying them and I could find something a little more well suited to my limited needs.

Has anyone else gone through a similar experience? What did you find out at the end? Any regrets?

2. Bassmanbob

Bassmanbob Supporting Member

I understand taking a break from playing. I stopped for 14 years when I was in graduate school, getting married, moving to Florida, starting a business and beginning a family.

But I don't understand two things:
    1. Why are you getting rid of all your basses? Don't you want to keep at least one around?
    2. Why did you post them on Craigslist? Why not Talkbass?

3. thehamsterman

thehamsterman

1. I plan on getting a new one
    2. I didn't even think about it. Doing that now!

4. Righteous Thunderer

Righteous Thunderer

I did something very similar. I'd stopped playing as much as was focusing on my family and my career, and I had 12 basses, most of which were high end Warwicks. I sold every last one of them and got an Ibanez SR755 and a Squier VM Jazz to mess around with. I honestly don't regret it, although if I ever start playing seriously again I probably will.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. spiritbass

spiritbass Supporting Member

I know your real plan - you're funding more hamster food. ;) ;) ;)

So you're selling six to buy one?