The great Stingray 5 string odyssey!

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by gmarcus, Oct 20, 2012.

1. gmarcus

gmarcus Supporting Member

So I just picked up a 2011 Musicman Stingray 5 from mntngrown here on TB. Great guy, awesome transaction, sweet bass at a fair price and he even threw in a new set of Slinkey strings!

I have to preface this by saying I have been playing a fender P5 with TI jazz flats for the last 5 years. I love everything about that bass and string combination so the really influences my comments.

I tried three different sets of strings on this bass:

The green package Slinkeys that were on the bass had very little use. And still had quite a bit of high end. The tension was very similar to the TIs. The sound was very even with a lot of zing and boing. These are very smooth feeling for round wounds. The B string was solid and all of the strings sounded similar (obviously the lower strings were darker but they were on the same spectrum). After about a week they started to settle down, but they still had too much finger and fret noise for my taste