The other most important rule that nobody ever told me

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by WashburnAB95, Nov 18, 2013.

1. WashburnAB95

WashburnAB95

I hope its okay for me to introduce myself here. Long time lurker first time poster. I play bass mostly for acoustic worship groups. Mostly gutiars, some hand percussion, and ocassional piano. My first love is acoustic guitar. However everywhere I go there will be several gutiar players and no bass players. So I play bass.

I am self taught... but I seek out all the help and advice I can get. Virtually all the advice that I have gotten can be sumerized as

RULE #1 Above all else lock in the with kick drum. Roots and Inversions when called for are almost always okay, 5ths are also often okay. Anything else proceed with extreem caution you are going into uncharted territory.

One day while rehearsing... I wanted a more laid back vibe. I wanted something people would snap their fingers to. I don't even think we had a hand pecussionist that day. In my head I started to imagine a drummer playing a super laid back grove. I started playing to that grove and tried something new... I added a pernounced pause and/or rest right where the snare should be.
    Something magical happened. Those with guitars started tapping their feet... those with free hands started snaping. As a side benifit the whole group became much tighter. So here it goes....

RULE #2 Leave space the for the snare! By playing interseting and creative rests you can imply a line that is much more complicated than you could ever play with notes allowing you more influence over the music while also leaving more room for everybody.

2. Hapa

Hapa

So the most important rule still seems to be use your ears

3. WashburnAB95

WashburnAB95

Unfortunatly my mind has the need to conceptualise and and understand what I am hearing.

4. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are.