1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

The role of solo bass

Discussion in 'Ask Steve Lawson & Michael Manring' started by Ezmar, Nov 27, 2012.

1. Ezmar

Ezmar

So I'm a huge fan of Michael's, and I'm not as familiar with Steve, but the one quick youtube search I did yielded a very enjoyable result. Anyway, I love what you guys do with the bass, and I've been a musician essentially my whole life, starting on Cello when I was 3, and picking up guitar and bass when I was 12 or 13. I'm 18 and in college now, bass has become my favorite and primary instrument, and I'm finding myself going in a very solo bass oriented direction, at least in my exploration of technique. However, I also am in love with Rock music and that kind of ensemble performance, mostly classic and progressive rock, and I love doing the whole Rock band thing.