1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

The switch to upright

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by damon78, Feb 11, 2013.

1. damon78

damon78

Hi All,

Not sure which category to post this in, but at least a couple of my questions pertain to amplification, please feel free to move the thread if necessary or to link me to any relevant threads:

I am an electric bassist and guitarist. Recently I have acquired a Hofner fully carved bass, I believe it is Czech made but don't know the year, the sticker in the bass identifying it has been damaged. My guess is 1920's-30's.

This bass was in pretty rough shape and had been neglected for some time. I have it at a luthier now for setup and bridge work and controlling some of the cracks. I get it back today. I bought some new thomastik spirocore mediums which it will be strung with.

The bass has no case and no pickup, so:

Question 1: How much of a case do I need to invest in for this bass. Any recommendations?

Question 2: Pickup/mic. I will be playing traditional music (bluegrass/fiddle tunes) as well as world music (african and latin with a drummer). What pickups would you recommend for a fully carved bass with those styles/volume levels in mind? Do I need a preamp beyond the amplifier preamp?