THE teeny-but-worth-it bass combo????

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by groooooove, Feb 18, 2013.

1. groooooove

groooooove

i hate to start a thread on this because im sure there are a thousand others...

but heres the deal.

i need something very small, and very light. i'd like it so sound awesome too

what do you recommend?

i can get a deal on acoustic image stuff through a friend, and thats a serious option for me; but i have a feeling most electric bass players aren't thrilled with their stuff. i'd like whatever i get to be not much over 30 pounds. i need to be able to play rehearsals with it. i intend to leave it in my car so i'm always prepared. i will occasionally play double bass into it as well, im sure. it will never be my main rig, i have other stuff for the big and/or loud gigs.

i'm a working professional, i play a lot of different stuff. everything from top 40/dance stuff, to solo victor wooten-esque bass arrangements, to rock bands, to straight ahead jazz, to modern electric jazz, ext.

i play high end boutique jazz-style basses. (feel free to search Clifford Roi if ya really need to know.)

so whats out there these days?

thanks guys,

t

edit- im not interested in lightweight heads, i have those already. im looking for a combo amp, for sure. i'm talking smaller than most of you... something like a 2x10 is way too big. i suppose a 1x12" that is one-hand-carryable is as big as i want to go (remember, it'll live in the trunk of my car.)
  2. mc_muench

mc_muench

Not normally my situation, and not the best to answer this question, but I would look into Markbass?

Rev. DOOM
  3. Nasty Nate

Nasty Nate

GB shuttle series. I played through one at an open mic jam recently and was really impressed
  4. elgecko

elgecko

The Markbass CMD 121P is tiny, 29 pounds, and surprisingly loud. Mine lives in my truck, ready to be deployed for rehearsals and gigs. Paired with a small cab, it's a beast.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Gravel Road Cop