The tension of the strings

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by cousinofmurloc, Mar 22, 2014.

1. cousinofmurloc

cousinofmurloc

So I've been playing for about 3 months and just got a fresh pair of strings. Ernie Ball Super Slinky. My dad went with me and he's a guitarist. He kind of pushed me towards buying those strings thinking that he knows everything. Later that day he helped me string it, he thinks he knows everything and told me to cut off the ends of the strings or I will be tightening forever. Then came the tuning, I obviously can tune but my dad really wants to be involved so he helped yet again. We used an electronic tuner, everything is in tune but the strings are very loose and I can pull them together very easy, it also buzzes and clanks a lot. Should I not cut off the ends next time? Are Ernie Ball strings just ******? How tight should the strings be with the standard 45-100 gauge? String recommendations? Might I add that my old strings were about 3 years old and mostly untouched until I started playing 3 months ago. Thanks!

2. Gorn Captain

Gorn Captain Supporting Member

What are they tuned to?

3. cousinofmurloc

cousinofmurloc

Standard EADG

4. bluesdogblues

bluesdogblues

Media:
    Albums:
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Tazz

Tazz

Three loops around the tuning post is about right. Enough for a sufficient break angle over the nut and not too much to cause the windings to slip over themselves. Usually there's a little excess to be cut off in my experience. Could be that the new strings have less tension than the old set so the bass might need a quick set up. Truss rod, action etc. The string tension can vary between brand even with strings of the same gauge.

7. cousinofmurloc

cousinofmurloc

Thanks, I'll cut off less next time I only have about 2 loops. I'm gonna retune it everyday and see if it changes.

8. Gorn Captain