The "What bass should I get?" thread

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by cry515, Feb 13, 2013.

1. cry515

cry515

Hi everyone, by now you've all probably seen hundreds of these threads, and I apologize in advance if I've stuck this in the wrong section, this seemed to be the place to ask.

Basically, I'm looking at upgrading from my $200 Cort to something a little more upscale. I currently have in mind either:

Schecter Stiletto Extreme 4 $699.00
    Ibanez SRA500 $675.00
    Ibanez Iceman ICB300ex $895.00

That's all I've come up with at the moment, based on look and from how they've played. The only one I haven't touched is the Iceman, so I'm a little unsure about it.

I play a bit of everything, however when I'm with a band it is always going to be Punk/Pop-Punk. So the ideal sound is something that'll gel nicely with that style of music. I'm a self taught bassist, so I'm not with all the terms, I just know how to play and get the sound I'm looking for, so I can't describe what it is I'm after beyond what I have already.

Feel free to suggest anything else, I'm open to pretty much any other bass, however I am in Australia, and I would prefer not to spend above $1000 if I can help it.
  2. DeliriumTremens

DeliriumTremens

out of those the SR is what I'd choose
  3. mystic38

mystic38

i have the SRA500 and its a real good player and very versatile.. if you want more weight in tone and lbs as a trade for a bit less versatility look for an SRX500 (or so, used) with the huge soapbar humbuckers...

4. Nashrakh

Nashrakh

(Pop-) Punk screams Fender Precision to me... Thinking of Blink 182 for example. Jazz will also work if you need more versatility.

If that ain't your cup of tea though, you get another vote for the SR from me.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. El-Bob

El-Bob