Theory Help/Putting it all together

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by lasdisc, Mar 3, 2014.

1. lasdisc

lasdisc

I'm fairly new to the theory end so pls be nice! lol
    ;)What does it mean to know the chords of a major key?
    1.Maj 2. min 3 min, etc. What do you do with this information? Does this mean you can play a line starting on any scale degree and it would be in key? The guitar player plays a CMAJ TO FMAJ so if I play a line staring on a D and play a Dmin arpeggio it would be ok or do I have to play the arpeggio of the CMAJ then FMAJ, etc?
    I'm not clear how this all fits together! The same situation with the minor chords - the chords of the harmonic and melodic. Does the same principle go for these as well?
    How do you know when to use a particular scale in a progression? When do you use the harmonic , natural and melodic minor scales? What kinds of chords do they go with? The same question regarding the modes , MAJ pentatonic and minor as well as the blues scale. Sorry for the long winded thread I'm just looking for an epiphany and hope you guys could help me with that. I'm not so familiar with some of the theory terminology so any explanation in plain simple English for the basic Joe would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

2. Bainbridge

Bainbridge

Think of it this way: the chords of any given key are there to simplify your note choices and to provide direction and a system of tension and release. Rather than having seven notes at your disposal and trying to figure out how you should organize them, where they will sound the best and in what order, you can look at a chord and say "Okay, I really only need to give priority to three of those notes." If there ar multiple chords that belong to the same key, you can move from chord to chord, only worrying ablut three notes at a time rather than all seven. Take this progression:

C F Dm G C