1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Thin necked basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by NFGgtsthgrl, Nov 18, 2013.

1. NFGgtsthgrl

NFGgtsthgrl

I'm looking for some recommendations for some thinner necked basses to check out, since I have small hands and short fingers. My price range is 300-400$. Before anyone suggests a short scale, I already have one. I've been playing for four months and feel that I should start looking at some full scales now since I'd like to get one in a few more months. I don't want to get too used to playing on a short scale to the point where playing a full scale is just frustrating.
    I have my eye on a Ibanez SR300/300M but want to try as many brands and models as I can, which is another reason I want to steer away from short scales; more options.
    Thanks guys
  2. Hank Scorpio

Hank Scorpio

I've got 3 vintage modified squiers (a jaguar, a PJ and a mustang) and they have thin necks- the short scale Mustang is probably the chunkiest. They're in your price range and are very well made.

There could be variety over the range, but I'd suggest trying them out.
  3. Technotitclan

Technotitclan Lurking TB from work Supporting Member

My early 90's Ibanez SR400 has the thinnest neck I've ever played. You can get one for about $150.
  4. Gaolee

Gaolee The Fat Violin Supporting Member