Thinking about picking up the upright. Gear?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by mixmastermike, Feb 5, 2014.

1. mixmastermike

mixmastermike

Hey guys,
    I have been playing the electric for about 4 years and have been finally getting into playing some jazz which has sparked an interest in the upright. Problem being is that I have no idea what direction to go as far as equipment goes specifically the bass itself. I am not a professional musician so I am not looking for a professional instrument. I would like to get one that provided me a jumping off point. Let's face it just because I love the electric doesn't necessarily mean the I will love the double. I do not have the luxury of being able to play a bunch of basses and decide which one speaks to me, I live in a small town, not much in the name of classical musical stores, thus I turn to you guys.
    Thanks
    Bye the way I am in no hurry.

2. Lee Moses

Lee Moses

3. StyleOverShow

StyleOverShow Gold Supporting Member

It is a big jump, the strings are so thick and far apart, as I recall when I made the leap 10 years ago. Go for playability, easy to play, used, of course with pickups, piezo presumably, already installed. I would expect to pay $1500 to $2000 in LA. Craigslist in the nearest big town might be your best bet

4. Anthony White

Anthony White

I used to play the electric bass. I took up the double bass about four years ago.

My advice is: