1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Thinking about switching to Fenders...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by pbass6811, Feb 3, 2013.

1. pbass6811

pbass6811 Supporting Member

Ok, I asked this question the other day and I didn't get much help, but that was my fault for wording it improperly, So, I'ma try again this way...

I hold down the low end in a modern/party rock band. Pretty much since I started playing bass, I've always played "modern" basses. In fact, I've never, EVER, even owned a Fender. The closest I've come is the few MusicMan basses that I've owned. The last few years has been a parade of high end, modern, active, 2 octave, 5 string basses. You name it, I've owned it-MTDs, Roscoes, Pedullas, Warwicks. I'm currently wielding Spector & Modulus basses. All of them were great basses, but some clearly didn't work in my setting. So, I'm in a local music store and I'm perusing some of the crap they have hanging on the wall and suddenly I see, "IT"...a Fender American Deluxe Jazz Bass V, Natural Ash w/Maple neck. I could hear the choir of angels singing as I picked up the bass. The setup was bad and it was out of tune, but that didn't matter, it just felt good. I put it back on the wall, but I kept going back to it. I tried a few other Fenders, and I really liked them, not as much as that JBV, but they all felt really good. This got me thinking about why I've always been so anti-Fender? For one thing, I'm not a huge fan of pickguards, I just don't care for them, but I love the way that bass looks, pickguard and all. I'm also a huge fan of 24 fret necks, but even when I solo, I rarely use that part of the neck.