1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Thinking in terms of bass

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by bscenefilms, Feb 20, 2014.

1. bscenefilms

bscenefilms

Howdy folks.

First time poster here and I hope that this is the appropriate sub-forum for my question. If not, guidance is appreciated.

First, a little background...

I am a guitar player. I am a hobbyist and have been playing for about 40 years. I have a decent understanding of theory - harmony, rhythm etc. Every now and then I will sit down and write a song - generally these are gifts for my wife.

Recently, my nephew was visiting and I wanted his opinion on my latest opus since he has a masters in composition. Specifically the bass track that I had recorded. Not owning a bass guitar, I lay down a bass track with the guitar, pitch shift it and run it through a bass amp sim.

Whenever I have done this in the past, I am never satisfied with the result. It does not have to do with tone but with what I play for the comp.

To me, it never sounds like a bass player - it sounds like a lead guitar player playing bass. My nephew agreed and said that a good start to overcoming this issue is to learn the bass.

So, Monday night a lovely bass guitar shows up at my house courtesy of my nephew. So I look online for proper instrument position, thumb, finger and pick techniques for the bass.