1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Thumb/Corvette Playability

Discussion in 'Warwick Basses' started by Selios, Nov 2, 2012.

1. Selios

Selios

Hey everyone,

This is my first time posting the Warwick sub-forum! I'm looking to make a transition away from Fender-style basses because their large bodies are not ideal for me (a small guy) to play.

I really love the super-small body of the Thumb, but I've noticed that the center of the bass while standing is obviously very different from that of a Fender/Music Man. It looks like there's a lot more neck on a Thumb to compensate even though it remains a 34" scale. Can anyone comment on how difficult it is to reach the first fret on a Thumb? I like to wear my strap somewhere at the mid-to-low range.

Is it any easier to play a Corvette? The downside there for me is that the body is a bit larger. As an added note, what are everyone's opinions toward thick straps stopping the Thumb neck-dive? I've heard that it can be completely cured from some people, while others insist that it really is a bad case of neck-dive...

Thanks!
  2. Means2nEnd

Means2nEnd Supporting Member