Tips for making the leap from two feel to four feel?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Sgroh87, Jan 27, 2014.

1. Sgroh87

Sgroh87

I've been playing bass for around six months now after six months of guitar and a couple years of saxophone. I like to think that my understanding of chord shapes and functions is pretty decent, but I'm having a hard time with walking four to a bar. I've been working on Autumn Leaves and I can do the changes somewhat comfortably with a two feel (with roots, thirds, and chromatic approaches) but when I move to trying to do it in four, my brain and hands seem to forget what they're supposed to be doing.

Should I take the tempo down? Learn to play it perfectly by memory in two and then move on to four?

2. wrench45us

wrench45us

Here's a suggestion for what it's worth.
    Buy the Todd Johnson DVD volume 1 and 2. Volume 1 is chords, volume 2 is scalars. In the back of volume 2 is 4 pages of Autumn Leaves exercise (among others) That covers and expands on what's was covered. I think it's a brilliant exposition for beginning walking bass. (at least it was and is for me.)
    Don't rush on any of this. Let all these exercises sink in. Todd talks about playing each 100 times. I don't think he's kidding. 6 months isn't very far along. Be patient.

3. MalcolmAmos

MalcolmAmos Supporting Member

Chord tone exercises IMO are as important as scale exercises. Why? When we get to the point that we can see a chord and our fingers already know what specific chord tones are needed for that chord, then we are ready to take that to songs and play walking bass lines.

4/4 time is used quite a lot in the songs I play so the "4 feel" would have a place in what I do. Certainly start with just the root, then your "2 feel" of the root and something - I'd go R-3 or R-b3 depended on the chord being major or minor. But, I think you need to go back and start getting a "4 feel" into muscle memory.