1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Tips to Improve Timing (I'm asking - You're telling)

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by m0ranwad, Jan 29, 2013.

1. m0ranwad

m0ranwad

I have sifted through the exercise sticky, and found a few that relate to timing, but they are few and far between.

As a beginner I have been focused on theory, scales, chord patterns, and such and for months I've completely neglected my major role as a member of the rhythm section - TIMING. It wasn't until I started recording my practice that I realized this was a major issue.

Here is an example of my playing slightly (maybe more than slightly) out of the pocket.
    http://www.wikiloops.com/backingtrack.php?jamsession=7470

How did you tackle this in your own playing? Metronome? Playing along with tracks? Playing with a live drummer?

Any advice or exercises would be greatly appreciated.

(And for the record, I don't have a band or drummer to practice with. :bag:)

Edit:
    Fantastic FREE exercise mentioned by Rimbaud in this thread
    https://soundcloud.com/joachim-mahoudeaux/sets/internal-tempo-exercises
  2. Jason Wilson

Jason Wilson

Hey
    Firstly, great that you have picked up on this and didn't just focus on the other stuff, coz as you probably know, better to play one note with groove, than many with none.