Tired of being average

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by amablkm, Dec 29, 2012.

1. amablkm

amablkm

I started playing guitar in 2005 because my son who was eight at the time wanted to take lessons. We took lessons together. Although I didn't progress as fast as he did I became a decent campfire strummer.

In 2010 I started playing bass at my church because no one else would do it. I've been playing at the church now for 2 years. I have no trouble playing the songs on Sunday but it is soooo ordinary. I basically get up and hammer away on root chords. Varying the rhythm or tempo are my only means of putting life into the songs.

I've taken lessons from a two teachers in our area but they usually end up being jam sessions. It was fun and I did learn some basic theory regarding modes and scales but I never developed a consistent practice routine. While lurking I came across some posts regarding Scott Devine's website.

I realized after all this time and using two teachers I know the following:
    My major scales in 2nd position
    Minor pentatonic
    Blues scale
    Notes on the first 5 frets (Kinda. Don't venture on 1st or 2nd or it could get hairy. Lol)

Pretty pathetic .

Not going to blame my teachers because ultimately I didn't work hard.

Scott's website made me realize three things.
    1. I'm lazy. I make a ton of excuses why I can't practice but it comes down to 'want to'
    2. I need structure. I need a roadmap. I'm not good at being given a general idea of what and how to practice. I do much better when I can attack a problem than move to the next.
    3. It's going to take more than 30 mins a day to play the way I want to play and its not going to happen overnight.

So there you go.

On one video Scott makes a bold statement. You can be as good as you want to be. Nothing is stopping you but you. If you want to be a professional musician (I don't ) you can do it.