To dB or to to dB, that is the question.

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Skeeter1, Dec 19, 2013.


  1. Skeeter1

    Skeeter1

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    142
    To -db or not to -dB that IS the question. (damn auto correct)

    While I find that most active basses require the -dB pad to be engaged, I have two basses with active EMGs and unless the battery is fresh I find that they will not push some amps to clip if I forget to turn the -dB on. I usually use the pad as in gigging situations I usually have good FOH and I get adequate stage volume with it on.

    What are your thoughts on this solid state amps and tube. Also I know there is some vintage stuff out there that doesn't have an input pad. What is your experience with those?
     
  2. bassgod0dmw

    bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    11,440
    Location:
    White Plains
    I never ever use the input pad and I play active basses almost exclusively.
     
  3. Bass_Pounder

    Bass_Pounder

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2002
    Messages:
    3,644
    Location:
    Palm Coast, Florida
    There is NO need to use the "active" input with active basses.

    In fact, there are MANY passive basses that have a hotter output then actives.
     
  4. ArtechnikA

    ArtechnikA I endorsed a check once... Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,877
    Location:
    SEPA
    +1

    The only reasons to pad the input are:
    1) You can actually overdrive your input section into clipping.
    2) You prefer how the amp sounds if it's gained up some.

    So there are 3 variables in the equation:

    Your bass
    Your amp
    Your ears

    Do what sounds good and call it a day.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. seamonkey

    seamonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    8,870
    Open up you bass and see if there's a trim pot inside.
    You can use this to match levels with the first thing in your signal chain.
     
  7. JimmyM

    JimmyM Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    79,958
    Location:
    Apopka, FL
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    I've been using actives and high output passive basses on and off for close to 30 years, and the number of times I've needed to engage the active cut is 0.
     
  8. Calebmundy

    Calebmundy

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    794
    Location:
    Nashville
    Yeah I have never used a pad on an amp with any combination of amps and basses.
     
  9. Skeeter1

    Skeeter1

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    142
    That was my perspective too but then I encountered the Music Man bass and seems like I start to clip every SS amp I plug into. Maybe I need experiment more with the Pre-amp. Coming to the conclusion I'm more of a one tone pot kind of guy.
     
  10. will33

    will33

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    17,247
    Location:
    austin,tx
    Disclosures:
    Use of this field for any other purpose is prohibited
    For whatever reason, to my ear, using the input pad instead of just turning the gain down has taken "something" away from the tone in every amp I've ever had. Never been able to figure out just what it is, but it's always seemed like something was lacking other than just having lower volume. That's happened with every bass and every amp which adds up to quite a few from a handful of different companies and I still don't know what it is, but I just turn the gain down instead.

    The only times I've ever used the pad was when pressing an amp into service for something it wasn't made for, like running a hot output from a keyboard into the front end of a bass amp to be able to use the preamp and eq on it. Been a couple times there where there wasn't any useable range of control in the volume knob at all without using the pad....otherwise, I never use them.
     
  11. will33

    will33

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    17,247
    Location:
    austin,tx
    Disclosures:
    Use of this field for any other purpose is prohibited
    Your active might have a trim pot/screw on the circuit board inside the control cavity you could adjust to lower the output a little if need be.
     
  12. BassmanPaul

    BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    13,849
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    i never use the "active" circuitry at any time. I've never had an issue with overdriving the amp's input.

    Edit: If the OP is having problems turn the volume on the bass down.
     
  13. Downunderwonder

    Downunderwonder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    10,818
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Same as Will with my Trace, active bases only need the input backing off full, but my EUB sounds more natural backing off at the instrument instead.
     

Share This Page