1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

To pick or not to pick, When is the question.

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Buzzkiller, Mar 17, 2014.

1. Buzzkiller

Buzzkiller

Hello everyone,
    I am new to playing bass (like less than a week new). I have been a hobby guitar player for a while, never in a band nor exposed to anyone playing bass very often.

From searching forums for an answer to my question, I see that I am probably bringing up two things that may be a source of heated debate. I am certainly not trying to open any can of worms.

I have mostly played from Tab in the past. Other than trying to find video of the original bassist is there a way such as a note in tabs to indicate whether a pick or finger is used?

If there is already an answer on the forums somewhere or if this type post belongs in a different forum, I apologize. I really did search.

Thanks for any assistance,
    That new guy

2. Phalex

Phalex Semper Gumby Supporting Member

Do what's comfortable.

3. vishuddha

vishuddha 100% Mediocre Supporting Member

Pick when you want it to sound like you are using a pick. Finger when you want that sound instead. There really isn't much more to it. Anyone who gets heated because a bass player does or does not use a pick is just being ridiculous.

There typically aren't notes in tabs to let you know what you should use. You will get to the point where you can pretty much hear what they are using but until then, just look up videos of the bassists and see if they are picking or not.

Good luck!

4. Winfred

Winfred

Use a pick when it sounds like you need a pick. Use your fingers (or whatever) for everything else.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. musicman666

musicman666 Supporting Member