to use powered mixer or combo amp as preamp?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by benrutschilling, Dec 27, 2013.

1. benrutschilling

benrutschilling

Hello guys,

I'm new to the talk bass forums. I've been reading on It for quite a while but this is my first post.

my dilemma is should I use my samick 15 watt combo amp or my Samson xml610 powered mixer as my preamp for my rig?

the rest of my rig is as follows
    fuzz face pedal
    crown ce1000 amplifier
    alesis 3630 rack stereo compressor with gate
    homemade 1x15 cabinet

thanks in advance, and looking forward to posting more..

2. Bass_Pounder

Bass_Pounder

Can't really see a Samick 15 watter as having a good preamp, let alone a preamp output.

I would use the mixer (and remember to use a line out, NOT a speaker output).

3. Bassnoise

Bassnoise

Mixer gets my vote also

4. Bass_Pounder

Bass_Pounder

Also, given that you only have a 1X15, I would just use the powered mixer as your amp for now. Plug a speaker output into the 1X15, and your good to go.

Using the mixer as a pre into a power amp is only going to give you the same tone as your powered mixer, just more wattage behind it.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Joe Louvar

Joe Louvar

Welcome to TB. :)

Bass -> Petals -> Mixer -> Amp -> Cab.

EDIT: Oops, I missed that its a powered mixer and broken. I recommend starting over with a real bass rig or bass combo amp.

7. benrutschilling

benrutschilling

My amp in my powered mixer is broke or something. It clips when its quiet.. And the samick has a line out

8. benrutschilling

benrutschilling

Also. I heard the alesis 3630 compressor sucks for bass. Should I be using this for heavy rock/metal sound?

9. dincz

dincz

Your mixer only has line and mic inputs - both have too low impedance for a passive bass and even with an active you could have level problems. So you'd need to go through a DI first.

10. Sid Fang

Sid Fang Reformed Fusion Player Supporting Member