1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

tone capacitor upgrade?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by SteveHenry, Mar 17, 2014.

1. SteveHenry

SteveHenry

Seeking advice on improving tone adjustment circuit on my 1980's Pedulla Series II bass. The tone knob has virtually no effect on the sound. I bought the recommended replacement pot from Pedulla, but I'm a total beginner tech-wise (tho I can solder) and when I went to replace the pot I notice Hey there's a little capacitor soldered on there. Duh. Anyway I did some reading and now realize the critical role of the capacitor, and that different types & values of capacitor will determine the tonal effect. So, what type and value of capacitor should I install? The one in there now is a tiny ceramic disc, apparently the kind most likely to do very little to modify tone. I'd like to be able at times to sound as much like an upright bass as possible. Thanks for any advice you all have to offer.

2. eukatheude

eukatheude

What value is the pot?
    You'll want to try 220nF and 470nF caps, those are the most common.

3. i_got_a_mohawk

i_got_a_mohawk

Beyond playing fretless try using flats and or put a foam mute under your strings.

In this application the type of capacitor doesn't matter so much as the value.

Look online or go to a local electronics place and pick up a few capacitors (they cost pennies a piece) and a two way terminal block. Solder the terminal block in place and then you can screw fit your capacitors and try a variety out, see which you prefer.

Edit - It should be noted that if you then solder your preferred capacitor in place, there'll be a slight change in the resistance and capacitance of the circuit, though I don't think it'll be notable.

4. SteveHenry

SteveHenry