Tone deaf singer

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Mr L, Jan 6, 2013.

1. Mr L

Mr L

So I have been playing bass and guitar for about 5 years, 4 years in my church. Currently in 2 all originals bands.

My one originals band is instrumental so no problems finding a singer.

My main band is a 3 piece punk-ish band, the problem arose that our singer is moving out of the province. I've been tasked with singing as i have a good rock voice (at least they tell me) and everyone else hates singing.

I've sang about a dozen times in my experience playing in church and I've never gotten any compliments, or any negative responses towards it.

My problem is i am so flat! My voice can't seem to go up and down unless i am super focused on just singing and then my bass playing dies. It may seem a little Axl like to say it but some days my singing is just bad and i won't even try, like i can't carry a tune at all. Other days I can sing easily, but usually it's just I'm very flat unless i focus really hard and go way over the top.

So fellow members of TB, should i just give up and stop singing? I do enjoy singing and playing bass, i just feel like I'm really terrible.

What would your suggestions be to helping my flat tone deaf-ness?

2. mellowinman

mellowinman Guaranteed to break the Ice at Naughty Parties Supporting Member

Media:
    Albums:
    You are probably not tone-deaf.

You are probably lacking in control. Practice, practice practice! Practice singing without playing bass, and slowly work in singing while playing bass. It takes a lot of effort to sing well.

3. MarkMgibson

MarkMgibson

It's just a lack of experience with singing. I don't sing lead, but when I first stared singing harmonies, I had trouble singing and playing at the same time - it got easy over time.