1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Tone Monster Preamp installation success!

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Stinsok, Feb 8, 2014.

1. Stinsok

Stinsok Supporting Member

I have a Masters Design p/j (US Masters import) that sounds cool but output was really low. Using it with an outboard preamp solved that problem but I wanted it to be able to stand on it's own. I was considering selling it and I didn't want to have to list it for sale with the output issue.

I bought one of these:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/111269212222?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649

I installed it this morning. Easy to do, with the exception of having to remove some material from the cavity so the volume pot would fit.

I am really happy with it. It solved the output issue without being super over the top hot. The tone is very full bodied, especially in the case of the J pickup. The low's aren't muddy and the highs are brittle when cranked. I have been playing it in the noisiest room in the house. Most basses get some buzz when I stand under the ceiling fan but it's pretty quiet. Would buy this again.

2. punkjazzben

punkjazzben Supporting Member

I've noticed these on eBay a few times and was considering picking one up to put into my passive Yamaha. I've considered a few of the $200ish 'name brand' preamps, but I don't have that kind of money at the moment and if this sounds good I don't care how much (or how little) it costs.

Would you say the preamp is fairly transparent? I.e., set flat you wouldn't really know it was there?

3. Stinsok

That is a good question. I am on the road for a couple of days and will play it some more to answer that specific question.

4. Stinsok