Tone pot issue

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by purfektstranger, Nov 7, 2012.


  1. purfektstranger

    purfektstranger

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,873
    Location:
    Canada
    I recently swapped out the pickups on my jazz bass. The tone pot works until I put both pickup volumes on full and then it does nothing.
    Anyone ever have a similar issue and if so how did you solve it?
     
  2. line6man

    line6man

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    12,486
    Location:
    Close to Los Angeles, CA
    The only thing that would explain such behavior would be if the impedance drop when running both pickups parallel is significant enough that the cutoff frequency of the filter is being shifted up. Did you switch to pickups of a very low output impedance?
     
  3. purfektstranger

    purfektstranger

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,873
    Location:
    Canada
    I really don't know to be honest . I put in two Fender U.S. pickups. They sound really good but the tone pot not working on full volume is a bit of a drag. Only thing I noticed was that the previous pickups had a separate ground plate under each of them them. I installed the new pickups and also reattached the ground plate wires to the pots.
     
  4. eddododo

    eddododo Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,908
    How strange..

    Everything is wide open (bright) when at full? Whats the cap value / imprint

    Id love a picture of the cavity
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. purfektstranger

    purfektstranger

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,873
    Location:
    Canada
    Yup everything is wide open. I will take a photo of the cavity tomorrow after work and post it.
     

Share This Page