1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Tone-quest: P-bass

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by honkyfunk, Dec 4, 2013.

1. honkyfunk

honkyfunk

I think I got lucky on this one. Bought a new, off-the-shelf MIM P-Bass here in SF area California. Had it "Plecked" at SF works, (something every bass might want to consider), had La Bella flat 49-109's put on and a hipshot vintage (with the string ball shroud) bridge. That's it, and it sounds better than any of 5 other P-basses that I've owned in various configurations. As I was considering putting over-wound Lollar split replacement, I think I'll just leave it alone! I'm new to TB forums, but I'm so pleased with the tone out of this thing, I just had to throw it out there. I'm getting every tone descriptor that I've ever read here on the forums: tone up: a bit of growl, tone-rolled off: an absolutely round, heavy, not-airy or boomy, beautiful and quintessential P-bass tone. Those strings pull pretty hard on that poor MIM neck, but the action is low, no buzz, and plays like milk. All for under $850.00 - Amp is Ampeg PF500 to a 2x10 Mesa traditional. Keeps my neighbors happier, because night-time is headphone time. My next thread will pursue about 1,000 questions for all y'all experts and pro's out there. TB is fantastic.

2. OzzyGreg

OzzyGreg Supporting Member

Cool!

Hey, excuse my ignorance, but what's "Plecked" exactly?

3. musicman666

musicman666 Supporting Member

Awesome! You have any info on SF Works, can't seem to find em on line. I wanna try this PLEK'ing!

4. musicman666

musicman666 Supporting Member

Ahh! Never mind. SF Guitarworks! Going to try em out!

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. honkyfunk

honkyfunk