ToneStyler continuity?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by jeffbrown, Feb 17, 2014.

1. jeffbrown

jeffbrown

After an hiatus to take care of family issues, I'm back to modding my Epi Accubass Jr. One of the mods is a ToneStyler. After wiring up everything according to instructions, I tried to play.

Silence.:confused: :mad:

SO, I took it apart to troubleshoot. I'm no electrician or tech, but I understand where the current is supposed to go and why. That said, when I checked the NEW ToneStyler for continuity, I got nothing.:meh:

Should I be seeing continuity through the unit? My best guess is yes.

Help, please?

2. mdogs

mdogs Supporting Member

You are going to need current running through it to measure it.

3. jeffbrown

jeffbrown

Not sure, but I don't think I need to "measure" continuity. I believe continuity just tells me current will pass through the device.

Am I wrong?

4. BlueTalon

BlueTalon Happy Cynic Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Turnstyle Switch
    It won't read zero like it would if you are checking for continuity in your ground, but you should read something significantly less than 250K ohms.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. jeffbrown

jeffbrown

OK, now I'm confused. If I check for continuity I hear a tone. BlueTalon, what setting are you using?

7. line6man

line6man

You're not getting continuity, because you are trying to check the DCR of a device that has capacitors in it. Capacitors block direct current. Hence, an infinite resistance.

If you use an analog meter, you may see a momentary deflection of the needle, as probes are connected.

8. BlueTalon

BlueTalon Happy Cynic Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Turnstyle Switch
    Doh! You're right, I wasn't thinking clearly.

9. jeffbrown

jeffbrown

Ah, I see. I think.

What are the chances I got a defective ToneStyler? I'm going to doublecheck the wiring with the schematic and try again.

Thanks!

10. jeffbrown

jeffbrown