Too aggressive for a Jackson?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by WayneS, Dec 20, 2012.

1. WayneS

WayneS

I'm a hard player. Think Steve Harris.

I've played Fenders for years and thought I'd try something new.

I bought a Jackson JS3. Adjusted the neck and action (I'm well versed on the adjustments), and... I cant play it.

Apparently my hands are just too heavy for it. Great bass if I played with a pick. But I dont and wont.

I'm not interested in adjusting my playing style. I dont play the way I do on purpose... It just happened that way.

The bass, with its active circuitry, still dont have near the ass behind it as my P (SD 1/4 pounders) does. I'm new to active basses though... that could be a settings thing. i do however wish I had bought a JS2 instead.

Anyway... just ranting.

2. IPYF

IPYF

Sounds like you just don't like it? Maybe take it back.

Or in less practical advice you should sell your car/significant other and buy a Caparison Dellenger.

3. WayneS

WayneS

Its not so much that I dont like it. Just more disappointed really. Maybe it'll grow on me.

I wonder though if I can convert it to a passive bass. Just disable the electronics altogether.

4. Tupac

Tupac

If it doesn't fit your playing style, don't play it.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Stilettoprefer

Stilettoprefer

Does is have an onboard EQ? If so, bump up the bass frequency knob.

Also, adjust the pickups and get them into the sweet spots. And try new strings.

If all that fails, just return it and get another P or a jazz.

7. the wako kid

the wako kid

how do you play? describe your style,and what the problem is.

8. Epitaph04

Epitaph04 Supporting Member

Steve Harris actually plays with a very light touch and very low action.

9. the wako kid

the wako kid

but he looks like he plays really hard. I think he meant to say geezer,I've seen that guy literally whack his strings with his entire hand.

10. RNV

RNV

Disclosures:
    fEARful (I endorse them, not visa versa)