1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Tools and Cold

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by HaMMerHeD, Jan 1, 2013.

1. HaMMerHeD

HaMMerHeD

Hey folks. So, we've had sub-freezing temperatures for a couple weeks in a row around here. I've also had a number of tool failures in the same period of time. I had a Japanese saw blade snap in half, the table adjustment handle of by bandsaw crumble, broken router bits, a snapped off forstner head, breaking drill bits, and even a broken clamp head.

Have you guys had this kind of thing happen with tools in the cold? Last winter wasn't as cold, and my shop isnt heated.

So is this crap just coincidental?

2. bassteban

bassteban

I've never done cold like THAT- Im from Cali, so I am no expert- but it sure seems a bit beyond coincidence. What kind of numbers are we talking?

Edit: Ah- sub- freezing, I see now

3. sharp8874

sharp8874

The cold might have something do with it. Since some of the tools are starting out cold and then heat they could be under more stress from the rapid change in temp. Also I think I heard somewhere that cold metal is more brittle than warm metal. Just a myth though.

4. HaMMerHeD

HaMMerHeD

Between 7 and 30 degrees

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. iamlowsound

iamlowsound

Yep, that would be causing it. Going from cold to really hot by way of friction is causing expansion cracking. Imagine taking a glass dish out of the freezer and putting it straight into a hot oven, it would crack, just like your tools. Get a space heater, or two and fire them up an hour before you hit the shop.

lowsound

7. HaMMerHeD

HaMMerHeD

Thanks.

As I am presently without a dust collection system, im not sure a space heater is a very good idea.

8. Jeff Mills

Jeff Mills