Total newbie here

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Squawk, Feb 20, 2014.

1. Squawk

Squawk

So I am going to pickup my new bass tomorrow. Gibson SG Special. Had to order one because they did not have the finish I wanted.

Anyways, this is my second bass but te only one I've bought new. My first was a Samick Greg Bennett design DB5 FM.

I went with the short scale due to comfort.

So I'm looking to diversify the sounds I can get. I currently have a Fender Rumble 100 for practicing. I liked the sound I got from the Samick but my damn hands did not like the long scale neck. Walking scales that required my hands to do a step and a half were painful because of my short fingers.

Sorry for long story.

I'm interested in getting sounds like Jimi Hendrix/Band of Gypsys or Cream. I don't know what you classify it as but I think of it as dirty/muddy blues.

Anyways. Any suggestions on a pedal(s)? Not a Multi effect pedal.

Thanks and sorry. I'm new to the electric bass world. Acoustic guy for 10 years.

2. M0ses

M0ses

If you're looking for a pedal that gives you versatility in tone, this guy looks extremely interesting.

3. Squawk

Squawk

And this is what I mean by newb. I'm thinking effects and I guess what I want is different tones. Thanks Moses.

Learn something new everyday.

Is this going to give me more sounds than my amp. All I ever did was plug and play. To be honest I don't even know what my amp is capable of doing to change the sound/tone. I bought the Rumble 100 and the Samick from a friend for $300.

4. M0ses

M0ses

I'm afraid a thorough explanation of how equalization works is a larger topic than I feel like tackling at the moment. Google should turn up more info than you can process in one night, though.