1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Total newbie humbly asking for guidance...

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by KF2B, Feb 1, 2013.

1. KF2B

KF2B

Hi guys,

first, yes - I´ve used the search and read tons of stuff... And it is all good. Still I´d like to ask you´r opinion. Call me hardheaded... It only took me 41 years to get my first musical instrument which I received... today! :hyper: :bassist: :D

And, "of course", it is the bass.

"Of course" because bass is not so natural a selection in all honesty as my heart belongs to rhythm and what else is there so strongly associated with rhythm as drums? Anyway, for a myriad of reasons and after a long time of feeling what "my inner musician in the making" was saying I chose the bass, and here I am :ninja:

Besides bass is as rhythmic as the drums if you want it to, so...

A friend of mine who is an established bass player has given me good hints and tips but it never hurts to ask opinions from others who have walked further the path I am about to take, so... I am asking for what would you do if you were in the position of beginning from scratch at adult age knowing nothing about playing, notes etc? Few boundaries exist, so I might as well mention them:

- practice needs to be done on headphones mostly, so Pandora coming up
    - have already taken my personal weapon of choice so that is already "ticked"