Trace Elliot SM7 Eq Pedal

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by HemiBob, Mar 9, 2014.


  1. HemiBob

    HemiBob

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Location:
    Pincourt, Quebec, Canada
    Hi to all !

    I have an opportunity to acquire a Trace Eq Pedal at a good price, it has the famous pre shape tones and an EQ as you all know. I would like to know if that pedal could be used as a preamp ?

    Could i use it in front of a power amp like a traditional preamp ? Read somewhere that you need a certain signal level in order to feed a power amp... Thanks for any inputs !
  2. Downunderwonder

    Downunderwonder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    It's pretty hot but probably not enough for line level. It's been some time since I got mine but iirc I put it through my mixer to get it pumping. Quite freaky hearing Trace from a bog standard power amp.
  3. HemiBob

    HemiBob

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Location:
    Pincourt, Quebec, Canada
    Thanks Downunder for the reply, you say freaky, was it bad ? Thing is, i have a Trace Series 6 head (150 watts) but am looking for more volume, should i just use the preamp from the head and send it to a power amp ?
  4. bopit01

    bopit01

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Hi there,
    For what it's worth - here's my 2 cents.
    I have been using a Trace Series 6 AH130 for about 20 years and running a Boss GE-10 graphic in front of it (so yeah kind of like a pre-amp) It's served me very very well.
    I am now trying to simplify, because I just purchased a Trace AH500 and it's a killer!
    Would love to try a TE EQ pedal tho just to see how good they are.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Downunderwonder

    Downunderwonder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Freaky good.

    You could use the effect send or line out for sure.

    Come to think of it, I have used the GP7 into the effect return of my trace head so it must have a bit of poke. I'll have another look tomorrow.

Share This Page