Transparent DI Suggestions

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by kleinenenten, Dec 5, 2013.

1. kleinenenten

kleinenenten

I'm in the market for a transparent DI. The trick is, I want more than JUST a DI. I'm currently thinking of either the Bassbone, or the Enabler. I'm also open to other suggestions, as I'm new to the DI thing. I'm also in no rush to get these, just looking to slowly upgrade my rig, and I feel this is the next purchase for me. Anyway, here's how it's going at the moment, with my pros/cons for each, and what I'm thinking of in terms of everything.

Bassbone:
    Pros - Boost channel, separate levels for 2 basses, effects loop?, cheaper than the Enabler

Cons - 15v supply would eat up space and might limit distance pedal board could be from the amp as well as being difficult to power with a multiple power supply, effects loop might not be what I'm hoping it can do (pedal chain etc. issues potentially)

Enabler:
    Pros - Headphone amp (recently moved into a condo, and my half stack for practice is too much, thought of getting a headphone amp for this reason anyway), seems a bit simpler to run, runs on 9v which I have available

Cons - More expensive, might not level my basses as well (is the master good enough for total volume?), have heard it colors the sounds slightly, which I don't want