1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Traynor Mono Block II (sometimes you get a better deal than you think)

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Rat Blitz, Dec 14, 2010.

1. Rat Blitz

Rat Blitz

Back when I was a crazy drummer back in the 70s the best amp for bassists in these parts was the Mono Block II. I remember the great tone (and ear splitting volume) from 30 years back.
    I started looking for one recently because a guitar player told me it was the best solid state amp every made as far as guitars go. I can't vouch for that statement.
    I offered a guy $200 (CDN) and he accepted. So I made the hour drive (why can't a find any gear in a major Metropolitan city ... it's always in the back waters).
    When I got there the guy told me it came with the original speakers included in the price! Which is Traynor 2150 Cabinet (2x15s 400 Watts).
    I think I got a pretty good deal on that baby. (The seller was happy as well because as I was loading it he told me he bought it two years ago for $50 and a case of beer .... which is a great transaction for a Canadian amp but where's the back bacon?)
    And how did it sound when I got it home? Let's just say I have quite a collection of amps now and new things were falling off the walls ... (the tone is great too).
    Amp dates from 1980 and they only made it until late 1980. Cab dates from 1979.