1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Tribute JB-2 or Essex Jazz. Help me decide.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by harlon, Mar 15, 2014.

1. harlon

harlon

I'm wanting to buy a Jazz copy for my home studio. I'm leaning towards a Tribute JB-2 and will likely choose that. But I've watched a lot of SX Jazz videos and they really don't sound bad to my ears. Plus I could save three hundred dollars. It's just a hobby, and the bass will probably only get used 4 or 5 times a year. I'm really not a bassist, I'm a guitarist who can fake his way through a bass track well enough to make it work. So playability is not a huge issue to me, as long as it's decent. And the bass will likely never leave my studio. No live playing. So based on my purposes, would I be just as happy with an SX Jazz copy vs a G&L Tribby JB-2? I'm sure the Tribby is a better bass. But would my bass track sound much different between the 2? I know it's all subjective. But I can't play the 2 first, so I was hoping for some opinions before I order. Thanks.

2. wild4oldcars

wild4oldcars

SXes will probably come with pretty good wood, so i would upgrade the hardware and pickups on that, and still come out a fair amount under a Tribby. Just my $.02

3. snyderz

snyderz Supporting Member

I'm a huge G&L fan, but it sounds like the SX suits your needs quite well.

4. redhed

redhed TUBE LOVER! Gold Supporting Member

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. gjbassist

gjbassist Supporting Member

The SX basses are a great bass for the money. I have two SX jazz basses that I gig with regularly. For your needs an SX will do just fine. Just put on some good strings and give it a set up and your ready to go.

Really not necessary. The stock pickups sound quite good and the hardware is decent. The only hardware I usually change is the bridge and that is partially for cosmetic reasons.

7. harlon

harlon