Trouble deciding on a gear setup.Your recommendations?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by GriNn, Dec 15, 2012.

1. GriNn

GriNn

Not sure if there is a better place to post this, if so I apologize! So let me start by saying I haven't played another instrument before besides the harmonica, and even that hardly none, lol, so despite researching stuff for the past couple weeks I'm still relatively clueless as to what i need to get a good setup running and all.

Anyway, although I'm new to the bass I'm pretty set on going through and getting some good gear. As far as the bass goes, I'd like to get a 5-string. I know it's not the best for learning on, but I want something that i won't upgrade from later. And I know this is a super scrub statement, but I want to play death metal/metalcore (or atleast that's my goal) so I'd prefer my gear be focused in that direction.
    I'm completely clueless about amps and all that, not even sure what i need exactly. An amp head, cabinet, and would a bass driver or any pedals be good to pick up? I don't need a massive stage-worthy setup, but something that could do some small shows/venues would be awesome.

So basically I'd just like to get some of your guys recommendations! My budget is around $1,000-1,200. Not knowing very many people that play bass, and even less that play any sort of metal makes me somewhat clueless, so throw anything my way.

The main bass I've been looking at is this.
    http://www.guitarcenter.com/ESP-LTD...ng-Electric-Bass-Guitar-106557143-i1465168.gc
  2. Hobobob

Hobobob Don't feed the troll, folks. Supporting Member

Nice bass, but unless you buy used you won't have nearly enough money left over for an amp. Scour the TB classifieds, eBay, and Craigslist. Hopefully you can build a decent rig within budget over a period of time.
  3. GriNn

GriNn

Hmm alright, I wouldn't mind spending a bit more than that. Do you have any ideas what i should be looking for specifically?
  4. bertbassplayer