Tru-oil help!

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Dredmahawkus, Feb 24, 2013.

1. Dredmahawkus

Dredmahawkus Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    I stuck a bass in my
    Ok I am about to do a neck in tru-oil. I have never done anything with wood before.....So I kinda have no idea what to expect doing this. ok now I cant grasp this at all planning this out in my head. I am going to sand the neck down and apply a coat of tru-oil. THEN after it drys I am going to westsand with tru-oil. now Its supposed to make a paste with the dust and oil combo...I then kinda smear that in against the grain to fill the pores.....now my question is and I cant find the answer anywhere!!!! do I let it dry with all the smudged pasty oil all over the neck? then just wetsand it out after it drys? wont that ruin the finish? wont the paste harden so I wont be able to see the grain anymore? or do I wipe off the paste after? does it sand out if it looks all smudged?

again sorry for my stupidness I have never finished anything! And I cant get this thought out of my head its driving me insane!
    My neck should be here in a couple days and I have to have this all figured out before I start. I have found a million vids and posts about how to apply...and I have a really good idea on what to do. I just dont understand since tru-oil drys so fast and hard what all that wood fill sanding paste is going to do to it. I dont want to ruin it!

2. Shanebo

Shanebo

I have used Tru-oil several times--three gun stocks and one bass. All have turned out very nice.

Don't over think it for starters. Just like any finish application, the amount and quality of prep you do before applying any finish will determine the outcome, to a very large degree.