Truss rod continually needs tightening

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Flatbass, Mar 11, 2014.

1. Flatbass

Flatbass

Hi all,

I've been playing my 62 RI jazz bass for about five years now and I can't get the setup right. I like the action to be quite low and completely even across the fretboard. In other words, when I dig in I should get an equal amount of buzz at the 2nd fret as on the 15th.

However, there's always more buzz at the 15th fret than at the first frets. I had a luthier once redress the frets and lower the frets at the higher positions. This helped, but 6 months later I had the same problem.

So I started tightening the truss rod and have been doing so for the past couple of years. Every 4 to 6 months I take the neck off, turn the truss rod clockwise 90 degrees and put the neck back on. 5 months later the neck has bent the other way again.

Is this normal? Should I continue adjusting the truss rod in manner?
    Is there any harm in taking the neck off this many times? Will the screws/holes in the neck pocket fail me one day?

Thanks.
  2. Slowgypsy

Slowgypsy 4 Fretless Strings Supporting Member

There's no harm in taking the neck off. Be gentle when inserting the neck screws and don't over tighten. It's possible the screw threads will someday wear out but the fix... threaded inserts... is relatively easy to do and quite permanent.

If all you're doing is continuously tightening the truss rod and never loosening at some point for seasonal adjustment, I'd say there is something not quite right. Possibly a somewhat stripped thread, or unusual wood compression under the nut, etc.
  3. Flatbass

Flatbass

Thanks a lot!

The truss rod feels as if it's okay. It's solid, adjusting does not require huge strength or no strength at all. And the neck does move in the right direction with the expected curve.
    I only expected it to settle after a year or so, but that hasn't happened yet.