1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Try a short scale!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ronlitz, Jan 28, 2013.

1. ronlitz

ronlitz Supporting Member

I have small hands and a bad back. I've been playing bass for about 20 years, and I've always preferred a jazz-type neck - since it is smaller and easier for me to play, and I've also tended towards light basses such as Ibanez. For some reason, I never once considered a short scale bass - I guess I just always thought they wouldn't sound very good. Well, I was in a music store last week just browsing, and I saw a Squier Jaguar short scale. Just for grins, I pulled it down. the first thing I noticed was that it was light - really light (6lb 9oz). The second thing I noticed was that the neck was extremely comfortable for my hand. The third thing I noticed was that it sounded good! (Well, with the P pickup soloed, that is). It was $179.00 - so I took it home. The fit, finish and hardware can't compete with a $1k bass - but it is actually very decent - especially considering the price tag. I played it at a jam session over the weekend, and I had an absolute blast playing it!
    In conclusion - if you have small hands and/or a bad back - get ye a short scale bass pronto! It will make playing bass more like fun and less like work - which is the way it should be, IMO.

2. Gorn Captain

Gorn Captain Supporting Member

They're also good if you have large hands and a healthy back.

3. ronlitz

ronlitz Supporting Member

Good point!

4. funnyfingers

funnyfingers

I think Stanley Clarke plays a short scale. Maybe that is why he doesn't have a bad back.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. bassbully

bassbully Endorsed by The PHALEX CORN BASS..mmm...corn!